Warsaw Community High School Art students were highly decorated again this year at the 2019 Scholastic Art Awards Competition.

In another successful year, Warsaw Art students received 26 awards in the individual entry categories and 3 more awards in the Senior Portfolio category. The Gold Key winners go on for the next round of judging at the national level in New York! The recognition for individual student artists is a great honor and having artwork on display at a well-known gallery is very prestigious.

The individual students receiving Gold Key Awards were Makenna Gaerte, Leslie Hernandez, Jose Leyva, Matthew Lowman, Austin Bowell, and Michael Rowland. The Silver Key winners were Emma Marshall, Jackson Moeller, Hannah Schultz, Abby Wolkins, Austin Bowell, Kaitlin Kauffman, and Dezeray Miller. Also recognized with Honorable Mention Awards and included in the exhibit were Morgan Hooks, Matthew Lowman, Michael Rowland, Zeb Hernandez, Caitlin Kehler, Ian Peloza, Erin Peugh, Abigail Seese, Jocelyn Shepherd, Ana Tlahuetl, and Austin Bowell with two.

In addition to the individual entries, the seniors in AP Studio Art also submitted their complete portfolios for judging. The portfolio is a chance for senior students to pull together their finest pieces and package them into a well-organized and thoughtful presentation of their body of work. These are considered for scholarship applications, entrance into fine art programs, and become half of their AP portfolio for college credit. We are very proud to announce Zaya Henn as our Gold Key Portfolio winner, and also congratulations to Austin Bowell and Zeb Hernandez who achieved Silver Key awards for their portfolios. We are very proud of all of them for representing Warsaw so well in our region.

The above students will receive special recognition at the awards presentation at the University of Saint Francis on February 17th, and the students’ works will be on display at the Fort Wayne Museum of Art until April 8 th . Congratulations WCHS Art students!!!